projects  about  contact  slideshow


Pratt Library
Pratt Institute Library Facade

Pratt Lobby
Main Lobby and Staircase

Pratt Stack
Book stacks, designed and fabricated by Louis Comfort Tiffany Studios.

Pratt Bracket
Typical bronze plated cast iron bracket.

The Main Library was designed by William Tubby and built in 1896 with stacks and interiors designed and fabricated by Tiffany Glass and Decorations Company.  It was Brooklyn's first free public library.

The initial project phase completed in 2002 provided the Special Collections facilities for rare and delicate materials and improved building-wide HVAC performance.  A series of glass partitions were installed in the Tiffany stacks to create climate separations between archival and patron-occupancy areas. In the building restoration, the original color scheme of the main entry and stair hall is replicated: a blend of ochres, yellows, oranges, reds, and greens, which compliment the original stone detailing and mosaic tile floors. New color schemes based on these originals appear in a muted version in the renovated reading rooms.   Other work included new Institute archives, a rare book room, slide and media facility, and permanent art collection storage.

The historic brackets and wood shelving are currently under restoration to return the stacks to the full operation and adjustment available in the original installation.  These historic Tiffany stacks remain in active use for the library's collection.

Scott Demel served as Project Manager and Project Architect at Rogers Marvel Architects throughout various phases of work at the library. 

The Pratt Institute Main Library is an individual New York City Landmark and is within the Pratt Institute Historic District of the National Register of Historic Places.

^ Return to top of page ^